What To Do: Attend 9/12 Tea Party

Well, how about that, Michelle was right.

“Barack Obama will require you to work. He is going to demand that you shed your cynicism. That you put down your divisions. That you come out of your isolation, that you move out of your comfort zones. That you push yourselves to be better. And that you engage. Barack will never allow you to go back to your lives as usual, uninvolved, uninformed. He will force you to be engaged.”
– Michelle Obama 2/18/2008  Campaign speech at UCLA

For those that know me, I really am not a person that has gotten too much into politics.  I have wanted to spend my time on other things, you know like family, friends, career, and maybe having some fun.   Although, my spouse might disagree about my political involvement–since at my family gatherings, politics and religion comes up way more than the in-law’s family gatherings–but basically I was a voter, tried to educate myself, usually pretty late in the campaign.

Now let’s look at the present..to become more informed, I frequent web sites at the Senate, House of Representatives, the White House, my legislators, news sources and blogs; read legislation;  send letters to my senators and representative; make phone calls to them (of course they are too busy to talk to little ol’ me), attend town halls and a tea party; some of my emails and conversation contain the word “liberty”; read about the constitution and our founding fathers; and donate money to candidates in other states.  Who would have thought.

Yeah, you have to agree with  Michelle’s statement of what she predicted last year.  When I heard her speech last year, I was really floored by how arrogant it sounded.  But I have to agree my life is not the usual, it is more involved, more informed and engaged.  Now that does not mean that I agree with the current administration’s  philosophy, far from it.  I thought the next 4 years, 3 years and 5 months but who is counting, I would just keep to myself, bite my tongue and just wait it out–but the changes that have occurred are far too radical for me and I can not just idly stand by and wait it out.  I keep telling myself that I do not want to have a conversation with my grandchildren that begins with..GG, is it really true that America was once free?

Does that make me crazy?  I don’t think so.  Others are bringing up the topic, even today a friend asked about the tea parties and thought they needed to attend one.

The next major rally is September 12, with a March on Washington D.C.  For those that can’t make it to D.C., there will be rallies near you across the country.  Just google 9 12 and your state name to find out more details. Glenn Beck will be providing television coverage of the events.  I plan to be attending a tea party.  Here is a snippet from the 9/12 March on Washington page here:

It’s time to take the tea party movement directly to Washington, D.C. Please join thousands of local organizers and grassroots Americans from across the country as we gather in our nation’s capital to deliver a message to the politicians: Enough!

We’ve had enough of the out of control spending, the bailouts, the growth of big government and the soaring deficits. And we reject the future tax increases to pay for all of this spending and debt down the road. We are gathering on 9-12-2009 to deliver our message in person that we’ve had enough!

You may have seen something about the Tea Party Express on the news.  It started a few days ago in Sacramento and is making stops across the country on their way to Washington D.C.  Today it is in New Mexico.   Access the the web site here.

So what about you, what are doing?

Leave a Reply

